[Log On ] [ Register ]

Milam County Info

All the links fit to click...

Milam County History
(a brief summary)

    After a bit of horse trading between Robert Leftwich, Steven F. Austin, Samuel May Williams, Sterling Robertson, the Mexican government, the Provisional Government of Texas and the first Congress of the Republic of Texas from 1825 to 1846, the Mexican "Municipality of Viesca" evolved to the "Municipality of Milam" and on to "Milam County". Named in honor of Benjamin Rush Milam, it comprised one sixth of the land area of Texas and in addition to the present Milam County, the counties of Bell, Bosque, Burleson, Coryell, Erath, Falls, Hamilton, Hood, Jones, McLennan, Robertson, Shackelford, Somervell, Stephens, and Williamson were eventually carved out of the original Milam County. Brazos, Brown, Burnet, Callahan, Comanche, Eastland, Haskell, Hill, Johnson, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Mills, Palo Pinto, Parker, Stonewall, Throckmorton, and Young counties also received land from Milam County.

If you would like to dig into Milam County History, click here.